Follow us on:
Follow us on Facebook  Follow us on Twitter

World Standards Day 2013

Results of the World Standards Day 2013 poster competition

Each year the World Standards Cooperation (WSC) runs a competition to find the poster to provide the visual identity to World Standards Day, 14 October. Open to all, the 2013 poster competition asked for a poster illustrating the theme: “International standards ensure positive change”. The competition’s organizer, WSC, comprises the International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC), the International Organization for Standardization (ISO) and the International Telecommunication Union (ITU).
The winner of the first prize of 1,500 Swiss francs is Frederica Scott Vollrath (Germany).

Runners-up receiving 500 Swiss francs each are:

  • The team of Seuwandi Yapa and Samith Roshan (Sri Lanka)
  • Taylor Marquis (Canada)
  • Dimitri Monnois (France)

The winner, Frederica Scott Vollrath, is a freelance designer based in Berlin, Germany. Born in the UK, Frederica was raised in Denmark, England and Kenya, where she was home-schooled on a remote field station set in the middle of the African bush. In 2011, Frederica graduated with a BA (Hons) in 3D design from University College Falmouth, where the degree course is based on two central themes – Sustainability and Community. With subtle humour and an imaginative use of colour, Frederica's graphic and three dimensional work continues to reflect her commitment to the idea that good design is the key to sustainable living.

The winning poster will be a central part of the promotion and celebration of World Standards Day 2013 around the world.

The competition was promoted via social media. Five finalists were selected by the WSC, and the public was invited to vote online to choose the winner.

The World Standards Cooperation was set up in 2001 in order to strengthen and advance the voluntary consensus-based International Standards of IEC, ISO and ITU. Each year on 14 October, the members of IEC, ISO and ITU celebrate World Standards Day, to raise awareness and pay tribute to the thousands of experts worldwide who develop International Standards (


First prize: Frederica Scott Vollrath (Germany)

 Frederica Scott Vollrath


Runners up:

The team of Seuwandi Yapa and Samith Roshan (Sri Lanka)

Seuwandi Yapa and Samith Roshan

Taylor Marquis (Canada)

Taylor Marquis

Dimitri Monnois (France)

Dimitri Monnois

Back to top